About Us

Advocating for Quality Health Care in Rural Nebraska Since 1990

The Nebraska Rural Health Association (NeRHA) is the result of a shared vision among health care providers across Nebraska, who recognize the value of uniting in support of rural health care throughout our state.

Our grassroots, non-profit organization is powered and driven by our members: A wide variety of medical professionals and organizations invested in the health and wellness of rural Nebraskans. Together, our NeRHA members and leaders work to identify health concerns across our state, and collaborate on strategies to improve services in our communities.

Jed R. Hansen, PhD, APRN, FNP-C

Executive Director

Join our community.

Our Mission

To bring together diverse interests and provide a unified voice to promote and enhance the quality of rural health.

Our Vision

To be the leading advocate for the improved health of rural Nebraskans.

Our Priorities

We will accomplish our mission through leadership, advocacy, coalition building, education and communication.

Board of Directors


Past President


David slattery

(Term 1 Expires 2025)

Senior Director of Advocacy
Nebraska Hospital Association
3255 Salt Creek Circle, Suite 100
Lincoln, NE 68504


Nicole (Nikki) Carritt

(Term 2 Expires 2024)

Director of Rural Health Initiatives
986035 Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE 68198-6035




Julie Niles, RDH

(Term 2 Expires 2025)

Nebraska Dental Hygienists Ass'n
1826 S. Meridian Ave.
Cozad, NE 69130


Kristie Stricklin

(Term 2 Expires 2025)

Vice President of Clinic Services
Boone County Health Center
PO Box 151
Albion, NE 68620

Board Members


Kendra Brown

(Term 2)

Chief Nursing Officer
Kearney County Health Services
727 East First Street
Minden, NE 68959

Scott Cook CHI Health

Scott Cook

(Term 2)

Div. Dir. Network Development
12809 West Dodge Rd
Omaha, NE 68154


Mirya Hallock

(Term 2 Expires 2024)

Chief Executive Officer
Brown County Hospital
945 E Zero Street
Ainsworth, NE 69210


Heather Harris-Ockinga

(Term 1 Expires 2023)

317 N Webster St
Red Cloud, NE 6897

Brady Beecham, MD

(Term 1 Expires 2024)

Medical Director
Two Rivers Public Health
516 W. 11th Street, Ste 108B
Kearney, NE 68845


Zach Witt, MHA

(Term 1 Expires 2024)

Administrative Fellow
Bryan Health
1600 S. 48th Street
Lincoln, NE 68506

Manuela (Manny) Banner

(Term 2 Expires 2023)

Director, Southeast District Health Department
1315 S 3rd Street
Nebraska City, NE 68410

Are you interested in serving on the NERHA Board of Directors?

Individual members can nominate someone or themselves at anytime prior to August 1st of each year. At that time, the NERHA will openly solicit nominations for the Board of Directors from the general membership. Each nominee must fill out the form below which includes a list of questions to be answered by all nominees that shall serve the purpose of demonstrating both their qualifications and interest in the offices or positions. Failure to respond to any or all of these questions is cause for an individual’s name to be removed from nomination.

All nominations are forwarded to the NERHA President–Elect who will present in writing to the NERHA Executive Committee a slate of nominations on or before September 15th of each year. In approving the slate to be presented to the membership, the executive committee shall keep in mind the importance of leadership that is broadly representative of the professional, institutional, geographic, ethnic and racial makeup of rural health.

The executive director will present in writing to the membership a slate of candidates approved by the Executive Committee on or before October 15th each year. Each member, in good standing, shall have the opportunity to vote in the election through an electronic method made available by the Association.

Results are announced by December 1st of each year,



Nebraska Rural Health Association
4505 Lake Forest Cir.
Papillion, NE 68133

Phone: 402-934-6601

Toll Free: 888-926-4554